Dr. phys. Roberts Eglītis from ISSP UL receives Baltic Assembly prize for Science

On Friday, October 2, in a partly digital meeting the joint jury consisting of nine literature, art and science experts from Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania assessed the nominated works and decided to award the Baltic Assembly Prize for Science to Dr.phys. Roberts Eglītis - a leading researcher in the ISSP UL’s Laboratory of Computer Modelling of Electronic Structure of Solids for his research cycle "Theoretical predictions of new materials for energy storage and harvesting ".

The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighboring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic states; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic States in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

The Baltic Assembly is an international organization for cooperation among the parliaments of the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania, founded on the basis of the Joint Decision adopted by the members of the Supreme Councils of the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania in Vilnius on 1 December 1990.